Box Office

01892 678 678

Open Monday - Saturday, 10am - 3pm

Online Booking

Find Us

Trinity Theatre
Church Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent, TN1 1JP

Youth Theatre Backstage

Details

  • Category: Youth Theatre
  • Production: Trinity Youth Theatre

Full Description

Take part, behind the scenes!

Our backstage youth theatre is comprised of two strands – Production, learning how to design, construct, and source set, props, and costumes for a production on the Trinity stage; and Technical, learning how to design and operate sound and lighting, as well as stage management. Participants can do one strand, or both and get a discounted space.

Trinity Youth Theatre Backstage is currently sold out for 2018. Applications for 2019 will open in the new year. Join the waiting list to be the first to know when spaces are available.

Participants will learn from industry specialists how to bring a show to the stage. In 2018, they contributed to the creative process for Trinity Youth Theatre's summer production of Madagascar Jr, as well as assisting on Les Misérables School Edition.

Those taking part will also get the opportunity to help run the shows live during show weeks and performances – as lighting operator, sound operator, make-up artist, costumier or assistant stage manager.

Bursaries are available via The Elliott Foundation for those who might need financial assistance. Please contact the Youth and Learning team for more information.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact Jason and Juliette in the Youth and Learning team via education@trinitytheatre.net or on 01892 500673.

Each participant gets two free tickets to both productions.

 

Production Strand

  • Thu 31 May, 4pm – 6pm – Introduction / Production Meeting
  • Sun 17 Jun, midday – 4pm – Costumes
  • Sat 30 Jun, midday – 4pm – Set and Prop Design
  • Sat 14 Jul, midday – 4pm – Costumes
  • Sat 21 Jul, midday – 4pm – Make-Up
  • Thu 26 Jul, 10am – 4pm – Set and Prop Design
  • Fri 27 Jul, 10am – 4pm – Set and Prop Design

Optional extras:

  • Madagascar rehearsal week: Mon 30 Jul – Fri 3 Aug, 10am – 4pm
  • Madagascar performances: Sat 4 Aug, 11am – 1pm, 1.30pm – 3.30pm, 4pm – 6pm, 6.30pm – 8.30pm
  • Les Mis rehearsal week: Sun 5 Aug – Fri 10 Aug, 10am – 4.30pm
  • Les Mis performances: Fri 10 Aug, 6pm – 9.30pm; Sat 11 Aug, 1pm – 4.30pm; Sat 11 Aug, 6pm – 9.30pm

 

Technical Strand

  • Thu 31 May, 4pm – 6pm – Introduction / Production Meeting
  • Sun 10 Jun, 12.30pm – 4.30pm
  • Sun 1 Jul, 12.30pm – 4.30pm
  • Wed 25 Jul, 1.30pm – 5pm
  • Thu 26 Jul, 1.30pm – 5pm
  • Fri 27 Jul, 1.30pm – 5pm

Optional extras:

  • Madagascar rehearsal week: Wed 1 Aug – Fri 3 Aug, midday – 6pm
  • Madagascar performances: Sat 4 Aug, 11am – 1pm, 1.30pm – 3.30pm, 4pm – 6pm, 6.30pm – 8.30pm
  • Les Mis rehearsal week: Wed 8 Aug – Fri 10 Aug, 11am – 6pm
  • Les Mis performances: Fri 10 Aug, 6pm – 9.30pm; Sat 11 Aug, 1pm – 4.30pm; Sat 11 Aug, 6pm – 9.30pm

 

Open to everyone aged 13-19. No experience necessary.

Dates & Times

  • Date: 27 / 05 / 19Time: 00:00Book Now

Accessibility

Trinity Theatre is accessible to wheelchair users and other visitors who need to avoid stairs. For more information click here or the link below: